IPL Retention Policy Up for Debate: Franchises Seek More Options

The BCCI is revisiting the IPL player retention policy for the next three seasons, and franchise CEOs have a strong voice in the matter. A majority of teams are pushing for an increase in the number of players they can retain before the mega auction.

Current Policy and Proposed Changes:

Currently, franchises can retain a maximum of four players – three Indians and two overseas. However, most CEOs are advocating for a bump to five to seven retentions, with one team even suggesting eight. Interestingly, a few franchises have proposed scrapping the retention system altogether.

Meeting and Discussions:

Hemang Amin, the acting CEO of the BCCI, recently held consultations with all ten franchise CEOs. The discussions revolved around player retention limits, salary caps for the next three years, and the potential return of Right To Match (RTM) cards, which were absent in the 2021 season.

Salary Cap and RTM Cards:

Opinions on the salary cap varied, with suggestions ranging from Rs 110 crore to Rs 120 crore. An increase of Rs 20 crore from the current Rs 100 crore cap is also a possibility. Additionally, the BCCI sought feedback on the controversial Impact Player rule. While media holders seem satisfied, reports suggest coaches and players are not in favor.

Uncertain Future:

The final decision on retention limits, salary caps, and the RTM card will be made at a meeting of franchise owners later this month. With diverse opinions on the table, the BCCI faces a critical task in shaping the future of the IPL player acquisition process.

Join Our Whatsapp Channel

About Isha Pannu

I'm an award-winning content writer who has eight years of experience creating compelling articles and short stories. I'm continuously searching for new topics and stories to capture the attention of new readers. With my knowledge and experience, I can help you fulfill your content creation goals.

Check Also

Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh picks his All Time XI, leaves out MS Dhoni

Yuvraj Singh, the architect of India’s twin World Cup triumphs (2007 T20 WC & 2011 …